Cleburne Divorce Attorney Attorney Profile Contact Us Cleburne Divorce Lawyer 888-392-3405
Why you need a family law attorney. Why choose attorney Kimberly Baker?
Family Law
Divorce
Child Custody
Child Support
Domestic Abuse
Estate Planning
Fathers' Rights
Grandparents' Rights
Guardianship
Mediation
Paternity
Orders of Protection
Probate
Relocations
Areas We Serve
Criminal Defense
Drug Crimes
DWI Defense
Juvenile Law
Sex Crimes
Theft Crimes
Violent Crimes
Free Consultation 888-392-3405
115 South Main Street  Suite 201  Cleburne, TX 76033

Driving While Intoxicated Charges in Texas

Strategic Defense from a Cleburne DWI Lawyer

The offense of driving while intoxicated or while under the influence of drugs is not a crime that is taken lightly. Across the nation, states have created various ways over the years to crack down on drivers suspected of a DWI. In fact, it has even become legal in Texas for law enforcement to forcibly draw blood from a driver that has refused to submit to blood and breath tests, in certain situations.

If you have been arrested and charged with DWI in the state of Texas, it is of utmost importance that you retain the services of the knowledgeable criminal defense Attorney Kimberly A. Baker. For nearly two decades, Attorney Baker has been providing the people of Cleburne competitive legal representation. Contact her firm today to begin building a comprehensive case that protects your rights.

What is considered a DWI in Texas?

You are legally considered to be driving while intoxicated if you have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or greater. However, if your mental or physical abilities are significantly impaired due to illegal substances, you could still be charged for a DWI without any alcohol in your system. For drivers of commercial vehicles, such as tractor trailers and semis, the legal limit of impairment is capped at 0.04%.

A first-time DWI offense is considered a Class B misdemeanor and can be punished by the following:

  • Up to 180 days in jail
  • Extensive probationary period
  • $2000 fine
  • 3-month driver's license suspension

The penalties for DWI convictions may escalate due to certain circumstances at the time of your arrest. You could be facing much stricter punishments if:

  • You are under the age of 21 with any BAC level above 0%
  • You have been convicted of a DWI in the past
  • You were arrested with a BAC level above 0.15%
  • There was a minor in your car when you were pulled over

Take Action to Protect Your Future with a Cleburne DWI Attorney

Many people make the mistake of giving up and pleading guilty to their charges simply because there appears to be strong evidence against them. The truth is that nothing is truly irrefutable, even breathalyzer test results. With the professional representation of Attorney Baker, you can expect an aggressive defense that never loses sight of your freedoms, protecting them in and out of the courtroom. Contact The Law Office of Kimberly A. Baker today to begin exploring your DWI defense options.


Attorney Web Design The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. This information is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship.
The Law Office of Kimberly A. Baker - Cleburne Divorce Attorney
Located at 115 South Main Street, Suite 201 Cleburne, TX 76033. View Map
Phone: (817) 854-2022 | Local Phone: (817) 558-9033.
Website: